Urbach Research Group at Trinity University

Summer 2017, Left to Right: Elena Boms ('19), Zoheb Hirani ('19), Cristina Kodadek ('20), Hayden Anderson ('20), Madeleine Gallagher ('19), Timothy Wheatley ('19), Hailey Taylor ('19), Dr. Adam Urbach, Emily Babcock ('19), and Carolyn Young ('17)


Postdoc Position Available - email Prof. Urbach

September 2018

  • Zoheb, Hailey, and Emily's Article was accepted for publication in JACS.  Congratulations!

August 2018

  • Dr. Vijay Ramalingam started a tenure-track faculty position at SUNY Polytechnic Institute. Congratulations, Vijay!
  • Erin Cha ('21) joined the group. Welcome Erin!

July 2018

  • Dr. Keturah Odoi accepted a tenure track faculty position at her alma mater, Southwestern Oklahoma State University.  Congratulations Keturah!

May 2018

  • Zoheb Hirani ('19) was selected to speak at the 2018 Beckman Foundation Symposium

March 2018

  • Zoheb Hirani ('19) was selected as a 2018 Barry Goldwater Scholar. Congratulations Zoheb!!!
  • Lois Warden ('21) joined the group. Welcome Lois!
  • Hayden Anderson ('20) , Madeline Gallagher ('19), Cristina Kodadek ('20), and Hailey Taylor ('19) presented their research at the American Chemical Society National Meeting in New Orleans.

February 2018

Zoheb Hirani ('19) attended and gave a poster on his work on peptide recognition at the Gordon Research Symposium and Gordon Research Conference on the Chemistry and Biology of Peptides.  Marlies Hager ('11) was the conference chair!

January 2018

Prof. Lisa Ryno ('08), now at Oberlin College, was selected as a 2018 Cottrell Scholar by Reseach Corporation for Science Advancement. Congratulations! 

November 2017

  • Caroline Tran ('19) joined the group. Welcome Caroline!
  • Hailey Taylor ('19) gave a talk on her work on peptide recognition at the Gulf Coast Undergraduate Research Symposium at Rice University and won the award for Best Supramolecular Chemistry Presentation. Congratulations, Hailey!

October 2017

  • Will Skinner ('20) joined the group. Welcome Will!

September 2017

  • Dr. Keturah Odoi joined the group as a postdoc. Welcome Keturah!
  • We were awarded an R15 grant from the NIGMS!

August 2017

  • We were awarded an MRI grant from the NSF, in collaboration with Profs. Christina Cooley, Laura Hunsicker-Wang, and Corina Maeder, to acquire an electrospray ionization time-of-flight mass spectrometer (ESI-TOF-MS) to support research and teaching activities at Trinity!

June 2017

  • Drs. Adam Urbach and Eric Masson (Ohio University) were selected to co-organize the 2019 International Conference on Cucurbiturils in Athens, Ohio.

May 2017

  • Carolyn Young returned to the group as lab manager for the summer.
  • Amy Grice, William Mobley, Sara Vivatson, and Carolyn Young graduated from Trinity University.  Congratulations, Class of 2017!

April 2017

  • Zoheb Hirani, Emily Babcock, Elena Boms and Aamuktha Karla presented their work at the 253rd National Meeting of the American Chemical Society.

March 2017

  • Dr. Adam Urbach hosted the fifth Postdoc to PUI Professor (P3) workshop at Trinity University.

December 2016

  • Congratulations to Andrew, Lauren, Amy, Omar, Carolyn, William, Ashley, James, Brittany, Lyle, and Adam on the publication of "Cucurbit[7]uril–Tetramethylrhodamine Conjugate for Direct Sensing and Cellular Imaging" in the Journal of the American Chemical Society!
  • Cristina Kodadek, Hayden Anderson, and Timothy Wheatley joined the Urbach Lab.
  • Andrew Bockus left the group to join the team at Circle Pharma, Inc.

November 2016

  • Hailey Taylor and Madeleine Gallagher joined the group.  Welcome!